Reviews - The White Rose

Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

A of lovely little b &b, great breakfast, comfy bed, also in a great location.

Reviewer:Joanne H | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 2 weeks ago


The White Rose - Rating 4/5

9 out of 10.Graham was a great host and very friendly.Room very clean, Comfy bed, 5 starsfor Alison's "Yummy"breakfasts.On the downside, room at the top No5"Helvellyn "was a little cramped for clothing. Definitely recommend this Guest House.

Reviewer:Raymond B | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Brilliant !- Rating 5/5

So welcomed, very nice place, close to the cznter. As everybody, i can tell the breakfast was amazing. But most of all, i think Graham was the best host i've ever had. So nice, so english. Thanks a lot !

Reviewer:DESEVEAUX L | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Graham and Alison are a lovely couple. They made us feel very welcome. The food was first class and the rooms were very clean and had all the facilities you could ask for.Overall a wonderful time. Thank you

Reviewer:Phil J | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Cozy, clean and good location - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay in white rose. The room and en-suite were clean, very good location, close to bars and restaurants, nice breakfast and very friendly host. Would recommend to stay in white rose.

Reviewer:Anastasya T | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


NICE STAY - Rating 5/5

Nice location Lovely stay, Lovely Breakfast very filling my favourite Cumberland Sausage. We were made to feel welcome by The owner Graham who was extremely charming and friendly throughout and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Graham. We will be returning definitely at some point. VERY VERY NICE. Martin Guy &Sharon Guy. Nottingham.

Reviewer:Martin G | Mon 3rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


The White Rose- Rating 5/5

Excellent customer service.

Reviewer:Herminio P | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Best.B&B- Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B BREAKFAST WAS ONE OF THE BEST WE HAVE HAD .WOULD AND WILL RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE WILL DEFINITELY STAY THERE AGAIN

Reviewer:David D | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Two night stay 13/8/18 - Rating 4/5

Had two great nights here, Good size room with tea/coffee/biscuits,nice comfy bed lovely hot shower,great position with roadside parking,Easy walk to the lake, Fantastic breakfast, Will go again. Gary &Lorraine from Warrington

Reviewer:Gary P | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed here and we can not fault it. It's in a great location. Only 10-15 mins walk from the train station. Close to restaurants and shops.Graham was a lovely host. He was very helpful with local knowledge.Room was spacious and comfortable. Would recommend the breakfast. Sets you up for the long walks.

Reviewer:Rekha S | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Just outstanding. Not a single issue. Just perfect in everyway - Rating 5/5

Great B&B. Outstanding breakfast. Great attention to detail. Superb location. Great hosts. Well run B&B.

Reviewer:Steven K | Wed 8th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights to take in some of the local hill walks. The white Rose was clean and tidy and just a few 100m from the main part of the town for shops and restaurants. Graham our host was very friendly and helpful and gave us some good tips for where to walk showing us on a map. An excellent breakfast and would stay again.

Reviewer:Richard W | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely Winderemere B&B - Rating 5/5

Can't fault this place. Delicious breakfast too. Highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Craig W | Fri 29th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and friendly. Lovely breakfast and room

Reviewer:Margaret G | Mon 25th Jun 2018 | 3 months ago


Windermere escape - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at the White Rose whilst touring the Lake District and were very happy with our hotel choice. From the friendly helpful owner to the pleasant accommodation we were most impressed.

Reviewer:dorothy h | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Little Gem - Rating 5/5

A little in Gem of a hotel, and a fantastic host, nothing was too much trouble, super clean, and quiet, we had a great weekend stay, i would certainly recommend The White Rose to anyone. Brilliant.

Reviewer:Billy M | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the White Rose. The owners were so welcoming and friendly which always make a difference whilst on holiday. They were able to provide lots of tips on things to do and the breakfast was huge and delicious! The bedroom was cosy and the beds were very comfortable, we slept really well. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Francesca D | Mon 14th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Dear Alison &GrahamOur short break in the Lake District gave us the opportunity to see a few new places and to meet up with friends from the past. Our stay at The White Rose was relaxing and the breakfasts substantial. Many thanks for being good hosts and we hope to see you again in the not too-distant future. Best wishes. Susan and David Barratt

Reviewer:David and Susan B | Sun 13th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a great place to stay. Perfectly located and the rooms have all you need. Graham was a great host and happy to help you with anything local. We didn't meet Alison while we were there but her breakfast in the morning was great.This was our first time staying here while in the area but it will not be our last.

Reviewer:D | Wed 11th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Amazing little B&B - Rating 5/5

My partner and I spent 2 nights at this lovely B&B over the Easter weekend, what a great find!The room was very cosy and clean, Graham was a great host and always happy to help and give you advice on where to eat or where to go for a nice walk. The B&B is perfectly situated for wandering around Windermere & Bowness. The breakfast was lovely, very well cooked and prepared.We will 100% be back here for our next weekend get away. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Ashleigh| Thu 5th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


brian & glenness scunthorpe - Rating 5/5

great place and very good hosts. would stay again. very clean and a brilliant breakfast that will keep you going all day.

Reviewer:brian n | Thu 1st Mar 2018 | 7 months ago


Wonderful accommodation - Rating 5/5

I can truly recommend The White Rose. We spent a delightful weekend there with my husband in September 2017. We felt very welcome from the very first moment. Graham is an amazing host! He's very kind and his English breakfast is absolutely perfect! He also gave us a few very useful tips, as we were in Windermere for the first time. We really enjoyed our stay. We would like to thank you Graham once more! Best wishes to you and your family. xx Eva and Jan

Reviewer:Eva K | Fri 27th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Very nice - Rating 4/5

Very nice location, friendly hostRoom is small

Reviewer:Tejas S | Tue 24th Oct 2017 | 11 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Located right in the centre of Windermere within easy walking distance of anything you need. Clean comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Very friendly and great breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Peter B | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


White Rose Windermere- Rating 5/5

I was made very welcome &was given plenty of information on area.Room was very comfortable and the breakfast was gorgeous, with so much attention to detail.Thankyou

Reviewer:Lydia B | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent experience- Rating 5/5

Excellent living experience in White Rose, highly recommended!

Reviewer:Yang N | Thu 14th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


The White Rose - Rating 5/5

A wonderful experience!

Reviewer:LIH-CHERN Y | Wed 13th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely B & B - Rating 5/5

Had a really good time, the breakfasts were the stuff of legend.Very helpful with suggestions on where to visit, nothing too much trouble.Beds very comfortable, and location a 2 minute walk from the restaurants and bars in town (Windermere).Parking was difficult on the main road (down to time of year I am sure) but found out that you can park in the Pay and Display over the road for 3 days at £15.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:David F | Tue 5th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Great little B & B - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely weekend stay at the white rose over the bank holiday weekend. Parking is not a problem there's a pay and display car park over the road and limited free spaces on the road itself. The rooms are clean and cosy. Breakfast was top notch, would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Steven C | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay en route to Edinburgh - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant B &B. Rooms and food good. Would have been good to know how expensive the nearby carpark was - £15! Francine's nearby an excellent restaurant.

Reviewer:Alison B | Tue 22nd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Exceeding Good - Rating 5/5

Excellent value there was a lot of thought went in to the bed room (wine glasses sweets chocolate)the hosts made us very welcome the breakfast was one of the best ever Thank You

Reviewer:suzanne b | Thu 17th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Honeymoon Stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you Graham and Alison for your warm welcome and a fantastic stay at The White Rose. You made our stay so comfortable and accommodating . Your help with things to do and places to go was much appreciated as was the champagne in the lovely room on our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble even taking the time to telephone and reserve us a table at the fantastic Italian restaurant . Alison your breakfasts are unbeatable and just amazing! Your accommodation is spotless and second to none and in a fantastic central location we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The White Rose and will definitely return again.Thanks so much for everythingMuch LoveHeather and Neil Wrightham

Reviewer:Neil W | Thu 17th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great base for a trip to Windermere - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay - clean and comfortable.An excellent breakfast and friendly, helpful landlord. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Eileen Y | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved the stay, great people, so kind and the breakfast was amazing, will definitely come visit again. Also, very close to the train station and shops.

Reviewer:Anton G | Thu 10th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night and wished we had stayed longer. Rooms were great, great tea / coffee facilities. From arriving to leaving we were spoilt by our hosts who were very friendly and informative. Breakfast was excellent with a fantastic choice of foods, plus lovely fresh fruit on each table. Would highly recommend The White Rose

Reviewer:MARK B | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay, central location - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at the White Rose, Graham gave us a warm welcome and had some nice suggestions for day trips. The breakfast was great and the room (3) was quite big, good bed and hot shower. Furthermore the B&B is on a 10minute walk from the train station, thus easy to reach when you don't have a car.

Reviewer:Liesbeth T | Sun 30th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Great base for a walking weekend. - Rating 5/5

My partner and I had a lovely stay here! It is a Bed and Breakfast guesthouse and I hadn't stayed in one of those before. I had heard that you had to stay out of B&Bs during the day and could only come back at night but at The White Rose, you can come and go as you please at any time of the day or night.The room was clean and comfortable with an ensuing shower room. There was sweets, filter coffee, a variety of tea and squash provided in the room. The room was serviced everyday to a good standard.Breakfast was delicious. It is served between 8:30 and 9:00 each day but you can ask the hosts if you wish to eat outside of this time slot and they will accommodate you. A medley of fresh chopped mango, papaya and berries with freshly squeezed orange juice is served to start with and then a huge cooked breakfast will be served. You will get to specify what you do and don't want on the plate. We are vegetarian so we had veggie sausage and no bacon. I am also pleased to say that all eggs used are free range so this pleased us as vegetarians.The hosts (Graham and Alison) are exceptionally nice people and they were very polite and friendly to us. They also are full of recommendations for sightseeing. This was a real 'cherry on the cake' and thanks to them, we effortlessly were able to plan our days in Windermere and we had a great time! Thank you so so much Graham and Alison;we will stay again!

Reviewer:Lucy D | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Graham &Alison made us very welcome. Dining area &room were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious. Very helpful finding things to do/places to eat &drink. We would highly recommend staying here. We will be going again. Ideal location.

Reviewer:John A | Mon 5th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very good- Rating 4/5

Stayed here for two nights. Welcomed by Graham who was friendly and informative about the local area and places to go etc. Our room was lovely on the first floor overlooking the front. There was everything we needed including a kettle and tea and coffee etc.Everywhere very clean and organised. The breakfasts were great with plenty of choice to suit all. We hope to return in the future. Thank you Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Mrs W | Fri 2nd Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent and friendly - Rating 5/5

From the beginning we were made very welcome by Graham and Alison. Nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were clean and and quiet. Also fully equipped with many different teas and coffees, biscuits, Kendal mint cake and sweets! Graham was our guide and front of house host, whilst Alison produced wonderful breakfasts. The location is great for evening meals and entertainment. Will definitely go again if in the area.

Reviewer:Judy B | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent staying in Windermere - Rating 5/5

It’s lovely and comfortable. My friend and I had a four nights staying. In every morning, there was homemade and delicious breakfast to be provided. The host is so nice and hospitality, gave us lots of information about lake district. Strongly recommend!

Reviewer:MIN C | Wed 31st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay at white rose Windermere- Rating 5/5

This was our second time here. We were made welcomed from the moment we walked through the door. We would highly recommend that you try this place out

Reviewer:Ian and Tracy B | Sat 13th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Very cozy stay- Rating 5/5

We had a great time at White Rose. The position is great and near the centre. The hosts are fantastic and they provided us with the best advice on what to do and see at the lakes! Breakfast was great as well and the rooms are very comfortable! Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Elisabetta F | Thu 4th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the white rose. There was no parking but plenty of parking in the area so we had no trouble. The owners were very friendly and recommended us walks and booked us in at the italian restaurant in bowness. The breakfast was very nice. We would stay here again. Room was very nice too. Bathroom a little small but shower was good and the room was clean.

Reviewer:Cheryl P | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend break. - Rating 5/5

Looked after really well by Graham and Alison. Will stay here again.

Reviewer:Allan G | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Absolutely Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Do not hesitate booking the White Rose, it is absolutely fabulous. Spotlessly clean, fabulous breakfast and great location, walking distance to restaurants. Graeme and Alison were superb hosts and have thought of every little detail down to soya milk and treats in yo0ur room

Response

Hi Alfred.Thank you for your review.We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us,we like to try and cover all bases for our guests.It was great meeting you.

Reviewer:Alfred S | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

This is a good place to have breakfast and sleep.

Reviewer:Chong L | Thu 22nd Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Great experience, really enjoyed the stay!

Reviewer:Mateusz M | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


The sweetest B&B - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay here. For a B&B so close to the centre of Windermere it was so quiet.Close enough for all access to attractions and far enough to feel like you had left the world behind.Rooms lovely, staff amazing and food fantastic.Will be my only place to stay in the lakes from now on, an I can not wait to return .

Reviewer:Zoe G | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


White Rose Oct 2016 - Rating 5/5

Great stay - excellent breakfast, helpful hosts and very comfortable room. Thanks!

Reviewer:Kay C | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Perfect in every way. - Rating 5/5

An amazing stay over. Loved everything from Graham's welcome and attention to every need and detail when we booked in to the extra detail with the ground coffee in the rooms. Love the idea with the breakfast as it makes the process of coming down so much more friendly. The room was spotless, shower amazing. Just wish we had stayed for more than one night but we can rectify that later on next year. Thank you so very much.

Reviewer:Janine C | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


A great host - Rating 5/5

Excellent breakfast. Graham is a excelleng host and very knollegable about the Lake disgrict. The room was comfortable and quiet.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert H | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Nice place to stay- Rating 4/5

Grahame and Allison hospitality was great comfy and clean and a good breakfast would recommend

Response

Hello JoanThank you for taking the time to post a review.It is great to hear you would recommend us.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Joan D | Tue 25th Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Gem in the Lake District - Rating 5/5

Wonderful! Well-located, just a short walk from town center. Friendly, helpful hosts--got a us a booking at a first-class restaurant (Hooks) on a Saturday night.You have to park on the street, but it turned out to be no problem.

Response

Hi Roderick.Hope you had a safe trip home.It was truly great to meet you and you are very welcome.#Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Roderick K | Tue 18th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay &a very helpful host. Excellent traditional English breakfast sets you up for a enjoyable day in the area or beyond with a central location for Windermere centre &just a 30 minute walk to Bowness.

Response

Hi Graham.We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us.It was great meeting you .Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Graham H | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

The lovely couple that own this b&b are very friendly. Very informative of what is near by and what to do if you turn up without an itinerary.Very good breakfast, it's filling which is perfect for walking.

Response

Hello Andrew.You are very kind we do think we are user friendly.LOLGraham and Alison

Reviewer:Andrew M | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Our Week in Cumbria - Rating 4/5

Comfortable beds. Good breakfast.The en suite is a vey tight squeeze, particularly the basin and shelf above itexcellent service

Response

Hi Christian.So glad you were comfortable.We are this Feb updating all the shower rooms.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Christian W | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


- Rating 0/5

Great people. Warm hospitality. Good location.

Response

Hi Enzo.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so glad you found our hospitality warm.Graham and alison

Reviewer:Enzo De P | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Brillaint - Rating 5/5

Stayed here at the White Rose for a long weekend. Rooms clean and the breakfasts are really good. The owners are very friendly and pleasant and really go out of their way to help you. The White Rose is close to Winderemere town and other attractions. Will we be back? Of course we will. Thank you White Rose for a pleasant stay.

Response

You are very welcome andy.we look forward to your return in the future.We are glad you had a good time hear with us.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Andy P | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The hosts are welcoming and friendly, going out of their way to give information on walks and trips for the novice. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Nice little touches, great range of tea's and coffee's in your room and a sweetie bag to take on your walk. I'd go back just for the breakfast!! Will definitely return as The White Rose made a short break an absolute pleasure.

Response

Hi Susan.It was so great to meet you and would love to see you again.We will have the sweetie bag ready.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Susan P | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice host - Rating 5/5

The host is very nice. The breakfast is also nice. I will come again in the future.

Response

It will be lovely to see you again in the future.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Yiming T | Fri 16th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely b and b- Rating 4/5

lovely hospitality could not fault it we had the last room there was as all taken which was at the top my husband and i are pentioners so found the stairs to much room was clean and bathroom but bathroom far to small was hard to move about and use sink breakfast was great other than that enjoyed stay would stay again but not in that room .

Response

Hi Shirley We are glad you would stay again.We didnt know about your health difficulties,we did however try to change rooms for you but unfortunatly the other guests were not agreeable to this.The sizes of the rooms including the shower room are all listed on the website.We have been updating the guest house the bathrooms are next on our to do list.[the end of this season]It was great to meet you both take care and hope to see you again sometime.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Shirley M | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good - Rating 4/5

A clean and comfortable B and B. Friendly and helpful hosts who offer an excellent breakfast. Nothing to much trouble.

Response

Thank you Allan glad you found us friendly and helpful.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Allan B | Sun 11th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


\"Perfect\" - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at White Rose .Graham and Alison are perfect hosts.Room was spotless and comfortanle and brekfast was delicious.We will definatley be staying again.Thank you graham and Alison....Jon n Josie (Bolton)

Response

Hey jon and josie.So pleased you had a great time with us.It would be lovely to see you again.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Jon K | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Bank holiday weekend 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Excellent location and a very clean and tidy room. Would happily stay at the white rose again.

Response

Hi Samuel.It is great to hear you would stay with us again.We would love to see you again.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Samuel M | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


a B&B filled with Love, Highly Recommanded!!! - Rating 4/5

Hey Allison and Graham, we 've had a joyfull stay in your Home. Thank you for this!Warm welome, small room's with all we needed to be comfortable, great envirment tips, delicious English frish breakfast, verry quiet street although on 1/5 mile from resto and coffeeshops, parkingfaccilities in a 50 yrd for 15£/3days... We love this personnal tough of the common people,... so by this,a verry relaxing and succesfull journey.My score is 4 1/2 but the stars don't allow this. (not a 5 because of the small bed in room n°1)Love you Bouth, Carine, Johan, Sharon(17), Dieter(19) xxx from Belgium. (I choose this B&B by the score of Tripadvisor, but than most for the name "the white rose". For me, it has something Devine, and while our staying, i felled this even more). Carine xxx

Response

Hey to you to.It was great to meet you all too.So gald you enjoyed your stay with us.If you are used to a kingsize bed at your home then a regular double may seem small to you.Take good care of yourselves.Graham and alison

Reviewer:Carine M | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Location and Great Hosts - Rating 5/5

Ideally located near the centre of Windermere and with a bus stop at the end of the road. Comfortable bed, good size room and a breakfast that will certainly set you up for the day!Graham and Alison are superb hosts and are very knowledgeable of the area so they will always be able to suggest something to do during your stay.

Response

Hey Andrew.Thank you so much for the review you posted.Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Andrew K | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B- Rating 4/5

Lovely welcoming B&B so close to all Windermere has to offer. Hosts full of local information &ideas of where to go &what to see.

Response

Hi Janet Thank you for your review so glad you found us welcomingGraham and Alison

Reviewer:Janet G | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for a few days and highly recommend it. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast - plenty of choice and cooked well.Proprietors were friendly and helpful.Situated very close to town centre with bus stop to nearby Bowness etc just at the end of the road.Certainly value for money.

Response

Hi Heather.Thanks for your review,We are pleased to hear you would recommend us.Hope you had a safe journey home with no detours?? lol.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Heather K | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! - Rating 5/5

very accomodating and warm staff/ownerfrom checking in and out. rooms are magnificently clean. the breakfast was superb! however, when u have breakfast, request for atleast an hour before ur departure as it may take time and we were rushing to catch our train;apart fromthat everything is fine. highly recommended!

Response

HI Emelyn.We are happy to hear you found us clean and accommodating.It was great to meet you.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Emelyn M | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Great friendly service - Rating 4/5

Excellent location , service, spotless , and friendly as well

Reviewer:ALLAN L | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Brilliant weekend - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a fabulous weekend and thanks for being such great hosts.We will definatelyrecommend you to our family and friends and we will be coming back to the White Rose soon.We really enjoyed your hearty breakfasts it set us up for the day. Our room was very clean and a lovely touch with the sweets. Bed was very comfy too. PS sorry about the red wine.

Response

Hi Mark.It would be so great to see you again.You are very welcome we are so pleased you enjoed yourselves.LOL red wine should only be drunk NEVER spilled as that means one less glass to enjoy ha,ha.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Mark A | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic 5 star- Rating 5/5

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the White Rose. The location is brilliant, lots of lovely shops, bars and resturants a short walk away. Only a twenty minute walk to the town of Bowness where you can enjoy a boat ride on the Lake.The bedroom was spacious and extremely clean with a good size shower room. When we arrived at the guest house we were happy to meet the owners who were extremely welcoming and helpful. They gave use lots of advice about the area and things to do during our stay.We would definitely recommend the White Rose to people of all ages. We had a wonderful time there.

Response

Hi Hannah.It is lovely to hear you would recommend us.And that you had a wonderful time with us at the White Rose.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Hannah J | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good- Rating 5/5

Good clean room and helpful staff

Reviewer:Ian B | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Really good experience - Rating 5/5

The bed&breakfast is located near the train station, about 10 mins walking, which is perfect. The environment is fabulous, really made us feel like home. The owner is super nice, asked us about the breakfast option and offered nice places to visit. In total, the experience was just wonderful!

Response

Hi Sichao Yu.We are very pleased you had a good experience with us. it was so nice to meet you.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Sichao Y | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Most Enjoyable - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. Proprietors were very hospitable and friendly. Room was clean, with everything you need - tea, coffee etc. Breakfast was excellent, everything was piping hot. The White Rose is also central for getting about to Bowness, Ambleside etc.

Reviewer:Carol C | Wed 27th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place well worth a visit- Rating 5/5

Very friendly and welcoming place. Great location and lovely room. Lovely breakfast.

Response

Hi Lynette.Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you very much for your review.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Lynette M | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place - Rating 5/5

White Rose is a lovely place with lovely people that make you feel at home. It is ideal to visit The Lake District and the breakfast is great. Highly recommended.

Response

Hello Barbara.We are glad you felt at home.Thank you for highly recommending us.It was great to meet you bothGraham.

Reviewer:Barbara P | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Lake District stay - Rating 4/5

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the white rose guest house. The room rate was very reasonable and included breakfast each morning. The room was clean and tidy with an ensuite which although not large was fine with a good shower. Wifi and a TV were also included. The breakfast was very good, the Cumberland sausage especially. The guest house is a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Windermere and from here there are regular bus services and a train stop for longer excursions. Bowness was a highlight and I would recommend spending at least a day there. This is where most of the cruises on the lake depart from and is a very nice little town. My wife and I will definitely return to this wonderful little part of the world a number of times in the future and the white rose guest house will be our first port of call. Excellent service and value.

Reviewer:Russell B | Thu 14th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


2 nights in windermere - Rating 5/5

Very nice bed and breakfast. We'll run very professional and friendly hosts. Everything perfect and precise. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting somewhere bang in the town centre. We would stay again no problem.

Response

Thank youfor your review.we do try hard to fulfill guests needs as much as we can,running it as we would expect to find a guest house when we go away.it is so great to hear you would stay again and we would welcome you.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Wendy D | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Good choice in Lake District- Rating 5/5

The location is quite good, just a few minutes to the train station, supermarkets and restaurants. The hosts are very nice and helpful, providing a lot of useful information. Furthermore, the breakfast is very tasted.

Reviewer:HAO L | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


worth a comment - Rating 5/5

Couldn't asked for a better stay. Rooms really clean, friendly owners, really helpful with location and area knowlegde for us to entertain ourselves.would really recommend this place to anyone who wants a lovely guest house, great location and really friendly approach to customers.

Reviewer:Ian M | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Traveled with my dad and I had a fantastic time at the White Rose. Great welcome and amazing breakfast ideal to discover a bit of English culture. The owners are so friendly and it is worth to ask them for some recommendation. Really good location too

Response

Hi Amelie.It was a pleasure meeting you both [glad your dad enjoyed the black pudding,just sorry we did2nt serve white wine with his breakfast ha,ha,he,he ] hope you found a great place to stop offon your way.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:AMELIE D | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Perfect Weekend Stay in Windermere - Rating 5/5

We visited Windermere for a friend's wedding and was looking for a reasonably priced yet lovely guesthouse. The White Rose was just what we expected and exactly what we were looking for. Our room (Rm 2) was absolutely spotless with lovely decor and bedding. A lovely selection of refreshments in the room. Graham and Alison were fabulous hosts, very welcoming and helpful. Thanks to Graham for helping us plan the cruise and Alison for a delicious breakfast every morning. Will visit again when I'm back in Windermere and will be recommending to my friends.

Response

Hi Mercedes.Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review it was lovely meeting you both, [Hope he found his washing powder LOL]we would love to see you again.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Mercedes Y | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

a lush place to stay.we only there for 1 night wish it had been more.spotlessly clean and breakfast is very nice .hope to be back again many thanks.

Response

Hi Derick.Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us it would be great to see you again.And you are most welcome.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Derick D | Tue 21st Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Probably the best B&B in Windermere - Rating 5/5

Windermere. Nice room, en-suite great attention, unbelievable good English breakfast!

Response

Hi Lucas.That is wonderful to hear.We are so glad you enjoyed staying with us.It was a pleasure meeting you .Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Lucas P | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

I booked the White Rose as my husband was working in the area but that got cancelled and it ended up as a birthday treat.The White Rose was very comfortable and Alison &Graham were very good hosts.The breakfast was excellent and the room very comfortable and would certainly return if we come back to The Lakes.If I had 1 comment to suggest - when you are washing the towels and bedding please do not use scented washing powder/softener - if you can sensitive skin it can irritate it especially the towels and the scent remains on your clothes.Hope you did not mind me saying.

Response

Hi Vivian.It is so great to hear you would return we would be so pleased to see you again.we are open to all suggestions so no we dont mind you saying if we are told about any conditions like sensitive skins and allergies we an accommodate.

Reviewer:Vivien D | Mon 30th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful place! - Rating 5/5

We had the best BnB experience at the White Rose! Our rooms were incredibly pretty and comfortable. The hosts were wonderful and very accommodating. Graham gave us so much useful information on things to do around the area during our stay. Alison was lovely and always checked in with us at breakfast. The breakfast was delicious. The BnB is also in a good location. There are many shops nearby and it is easy to get to from the train station. I will be sure to stay at the White Rose again if I return to Windermere!

Response

Hi SameerahIt was great to hear you had a great stay with us.It was a pleasure to meet you and would really like to see you again next time you are in the area.So glad you found the breakie yummy.it was great to see you had fun on your high adventure LOL.thank you for taking the time to writereview.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Sameerah S | Sat 28th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfortable to stay. - Rating 4/5

Greg and Alison were very kind. Comfortable to stay. Bit far from the train station but OK.If possible, it would be good to change towels every day and give us bath mat.

Response

Hi Chiaki. The train station is a 5 minute walk away all down hill.The towels in the rooms consist of hand towels,bath mat and two bath sheets it is stated in the guest information book that if you require towels changed to put them in the bottom of the shower then we know to change them for you as is the prosess for most hotels and guest houses.. Im sorry you missed that information.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Chiaki I | Sun 8th May 2016 | 2 years ago


group from wigan - Rating 4/5

lovely host breakfast exelent room nice and clean.

Response

Hi Gary.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with usTake care Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Gary F | Thu 5th May 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic b&b - Rating 5/5

We had a really enjoyable stay at the White Rose. The owners are so friendly and really make you feel welcome. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are really clean and the bed is super super comfy😀

Response

Hi Karen.So glad to meet you.and glad you had a comfy stay.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Karen M | Mon 4th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Very recommended- Rating 5/5

We spent a night on white rose. We went there with a another couple with 2 younger children. The hospitality was great. Nice rooms, very well decored and clean. wonderful breakfast. Very friendly host in a nice area, only 20 minutes walk to the lake. They have been very nice and helpful with all of us, we had an issue with a car battery and they helped us tort it start with jump lead and their car. We can't say thanks enough.

Response

Hi Victoria.It was a pleasure meeting you all and hope you got home without anymore difficulties.Thank you for your comments on the White Rose.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Victoria B | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely couple - Rating 5/5

We arrived for a two night stay and managed to park outside the B&B. We were greeted by the owner. He was very friendly and informative about the surrounding area.The breakfasts in both days were really nice and set us up.We would go back again without hesitation.

Response

Hi Carole.Thank you for your review it is great to hear you have had a great time with us and would gladly welcome you back.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Carole C | Fri 25th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Christmas 2015 at the White Rose - Rating 5/5

1/4/16. My daughter and I spent Christmas Eve through Boxing Day with Allison and Graham at the White Rose. It was a most enjoyable experience. Our room was decorated for the holidays, including twinkling lights and tasty treats. It was an unexpected and delightful welcome. I have never met more gracious and considerate hosts.I am certain anyone would enjoy their stay. They are going through a bit of a remodel, but that, I feel, is less important than the overall experience. Great location in the Lake District.

Response

Hi it was wonderful meeting you.We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.we are at the moment having new radiators fitted and the windows renovated.We have managed to redecorate two rooms.so ready for new season.Hope you had a safe journey home.Take good care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Daniela V | Mon 4th Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful weekend at Lake District - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful time in Windermere even though weather was not so good. Stay at White Rose was really nice with comfy beds and lovely breakfast. Nicely located with lot of cafes and restaurants available within short walk.

Response

Hello George.It is great to hear you had a wonderful stay here in Windermere as for the weather what can i say ITS STILL NOT GOOD grrrr!!!Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Mr. Blesson G | Mon 16th Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


stay- Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay. Warm welcome and very friendly. Thanks

Response

Hello Carolyn.You are very welcome it was a pleasure meeting you.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Carolyn B | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 2 years ago


A perfect stay!- Rating 5/5

Graham and Ali make you feel so welcome as soon as you arrive, they take the time to discuss your plans and help if you need, sharing their local knowledge. The rooms are very cosy and extremely clean. The heating was on all the time and rooms were lovely and warm. Breakfast was AMAZING. We've stayed in a lot of B and Bs and the breakfast here is by far the best.

Response

Hi Craig.it was great to meet you,we are so pleased you found us welcoming.We do work hard to ensure you have all you need to assist your stay.the rooms are a massive part of a pleasant stay so we do spend a lot of time on them.It is brilliant to hear you found our breakfast so good.Graham and Ali.

Reviewer:Craig G | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

The stay was perfect,breakfast,room and Greyham all brilliant .The only thing i can say is the room was frezing ,a problem with the heating we were told ,a small heater would have been a bonus otherwise brilliant xx

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.The heating on the blink for one day.Just wish you would of asked for a heater and we most certainly given you one.It was great meeting you.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Susan F | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Lake District Delight - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel most welcome by ourhosts Graham and Alison. The beds were very comfortable, the food was top notch and we would recommend to anyone. Very good position for staying in Windermere and lovely cosy hotel. Great welcome. Will be back. Val &Denis.

Response

Hi it is great to hear you will be back.Thank you for posting your views on our guest house.Graham and Alison

Reviewer:Valerie D | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 2 years ago


Very convienient place to stay when visiting the Lakes - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at White Rose. Beds comfy and food lovely. Bathroom very small but managed. Short walk to end of road where the shops and Restaurants were. Lovely for evening drinks/food. Also good base for visiting other parts of the Lake District.

Reviewer:Philip H | Wed 7th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic! 10 out of 10!- Rating 5/5

The White Rose is one of the best guest houses we have stayed in!***highly recommended from London***The owners have really mastered good customer service. The variety of 'little extras' that were left in our room was generous and thoughtful;catering for all different tastes i.e. hot chocolate, biscuits, tea, coffee, decaff coffee, sweets and a selection of mint, green and fruit teas. I was particularly impressed with the jar of fresh filter coffee..and there was more...The bedroom was nicely decorated with a modern yet independent finish, very cosy. The room was clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable, we had a great nights sleep zzzzz. I could tell the headboard was new and also the bed covers. We had flat screen TV and Wifi facilities together with plenty of sockets. The en-suite bathroom was also very clean.Breakfast! Wow! You both should win a breakfast award if you haven't already done so. The ingredients were obviously of high quality, I would presume of local produce. It was cooked and presented to perfection in my opinion 10/10! I would say one of the best full-English that I have eaten! We were asked the night before how we would like our eggs cooked and had a lot of choice of what we wanted to be included in our breakfast for the following morning - again exemplifying the owners attention to customer satisfaction. The breakfast room was again decorated with warm colours and was cosy and friendly. It was also very light and we did not feel as cramped in as we have done in previous establishments.Both owners are friendly and approachable. You can tell they care very much about their guests overall experience.What a wonderful visit. If this was 'four in a bed' we would have overpaid. Alex Polizzi would be impressed! We wish you continued success in your business.Ps the Lake District is a great place to stay! We are looking forward to coming back next year to stay at the White Rose in Windermere.Thank you again for making the stay extra special!

Reviewer:Oleg B | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 4/5

We have just returned from a overnight stay in this lovely guest house in the beautiful Windermere. We were attending a wedding in the close by (10 minutes away) Langdale Chase hotel.Greame the owner was more than helpful pointing out places of interest, ensuring we knew how to get back after the wedding and providing numbers for taxis.The guest house was well positioned. It was a 10 minute walk to the lovely marina which was busy because the sun was out. The rooms were very clean and provided every thing you would have needed. Breakfast was delicious, probably one of the best I've had, all locally sourced and the best start to the day especially after the couple of drinks we had enjoyed at the wedding !!!

Reviewer:Rachael M | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Stay here,you won\'t regret it. - Rating 4/5

If you go to the Lakes you must stay with Alison and Graham,what a lovely welcoming couple. Excellent breakfast,comfortable,large room (room 3). Couldn't do enough for us from texting the day of our arrival to say they were looking forward to meeting us to recommending their favourite places to eat in the area and telling us how to get about to the local attractions. So accommodating throughout and you can see they work so hard to make it a nice place to stay. If we go to the Lakes again,we'll re-book!

Response

Thank you for your review of our little place.We enjoy meeting people and it was a pleasure meeting you both.It would be great to see you again sometime in the futureGraham and Alison.

Reviewer:Hayley J | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A pleasant B&B - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at White Rose, great hosts, excellent breakfasts. Our room was comfortable and clean, a good bed which meant good night sleep. Our only problem was wifi, it did not work correctly, we found it difficult to get a connection, we mentioned it but it did not improve, we were forced to go to a local cafe to use there wifi. Wifi was confirmed in our booking therefore it should have been working correctly.

Response

Hi David.Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We did tell you the WIFI was not working correctly on arrival and that we would be connecting to BT fiber optic on Sept 8th.It has been sporadict for a while hence the change in supplier.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:David T | Thu 27th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Midweek stay - Rating 5/5

well what a lovely little place. We have just stayed at the White rose for a short midweek break. We received a text message on our day of arrival from Graham and Alison which was a lovely welcoming touch and upon arrival Graham checked us in, got a feel for our situation and then made some recommendations of where to go and eat. He was extremely nice and has the running of the b&b down to a tee. The accomodation itself as a lovely quaint house in keeping with the style of the Lake District offering all the warmth and homeliness you could hope for. The bedroom had everything you needed from towels to hangers and even came with some local mint cake which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was delightful and catered to your tastes. All in all this was a wonderful place to stay and we will without doubt be returning in the near future.

Response

Hello Peter.We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us finding us homely that is what we were aiming for .And will look forward to meeting you again in the future.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Peter S | Thu 13th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly Guest House in Windermere - Rating 5/5

Looked after very well by Graham and Alison. Situated in village of Windermere.Rooms tidy and clean. Lovely full English breakfast. Lots of info re Lakes.

Reviewer:Richard B | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

Great location, short walk from the train station.Nice walk to the lake and amazing breakfast in the morning. Best brekkie we have ever had ever!!!!

Reviewer:Parisa E | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location & Great Value - Rating 5/5

Great value for money. Great breakfast &nice clean room. Near plenty of restaurants &short walk or bus journey to lake.No negatives

Response

Hello Lianne.It was lovely to meet you.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.and you are right plenty of really great restaurants.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Lianne C | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Feels like home! Lovely time! - Rating 5/5

The hotel is very close to the train station and many shops, restaurants and supermarkets. Everything was perfect. I really liked my stay in White House. Allison and Graham guarantee a lovely stay in the Lakes. The English breakfast offered during our stay was amazing! The bedroom was completely cleaned. The shower was great.

Response

Hi Nathalia.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.It was a pleasure.We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the white rose.Pedro said you had a really great time horse ridding.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Nathalia C | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


My warm and very pleasant stay at white rose - Rating 5/5

My family and I stayed at the white rose for four nights. The rooms are very nicely done up in terms of interior design. Each room had a different colour theme.Our hosts Graham and Alison were very friendly and funny. They always checked on us to see if we ever needed anything. Graham would also take time to have a chat with us while we were having breakfast every morning.Our daily breakfast is cooked to order, hence our food will always arrive hot and fresh. And order slip will be given to us the day before so we can choose what items we wish to eat the following morning, for our English breakfastI would recommend others to come by and stay at the white rose. It felt like home because the warm hospitality by our hosts.

Response

Hello Lim Liong Chye.It was so lovely to meet you and your family.I hope you enjoyed your time at the .And that your car has not got to many extra bags in it.Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review,we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.take good care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:LIM LIONG C | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


great place - Rating 5/5

well i never write reviews but i thought this deserved an amazing write up.The breakfast lived up to its expectations with great quality and great taste to match, the rooms were more than sufficient for our needs. The thought that making sure all were catered for was heartfelt.Alison and Graham have a great mindset for making this a truly special place and we will be visiting again they were kind helpful and obliging. Thank you for a great stay. Sarah Smith June 2015.

Response

Hi there Sarah.Well first of all thank you so much for writing a review for us.It makes us so happy to know you have had a great time with us.It would be great to meet you again in the future.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Sarah S | Sun 14th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the White Rose was wonderful, the hosts could noy do more to help. The breakfast was outstsnding. It felt like visiting family. Would gladly stay again.

Response

Hi Sandra. Thank you so much for your kind review.It would be wonderful to meet you again.It was a pleasure.Take care and hopefully see you soon.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Sandra W | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 4/5

Overall it was a good choice for us as a base for hiking. Very friendly and great breakfasts. Comfortable bedroom and beds. Only one downside - ensuite very tight for space to manoeuvre. But i would recommend to my friends yes. Thank you!

Response

Hi Mr Moore.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.glad you enjoyed your stay with us.hope to see you again.We are over time making updates to the guest house.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:PHILIP M | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


white Rose- Rating 4/5

Lovely place to stay with excellent food

Response

Hello Mr Cockerline.We always say good food to set you up for the day.It was great meeting you.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Brian C | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent stay at White Rose- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay here. Very welcoming and helpful. Even accommodating our motorbikes.Loved the extras in the room and nice teas.

Response

Hi Rosemary. Hope your enjoying the rest of your trip.It was a pleasure accommodating your bikes and no trouble at all.Thank you for taking the time out to post a review it is appreciated.So great to meet you.Take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Rosemary D | Wed 27th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful hospitality, excellent location - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed our stay at the White Rose very much. It is so handy to the village and a beautiful walk down to the lake. And the breakfast.... Bring your appetite and get ready for a real treat!!

Response

Hi Peggy.I do like to feed people glad you enjoyed it.Hope you got back home safe and sound.It was great to meet you.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Peggy B | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

Wonderful time in the Lakes and superb B&B, great hosts, location and yummy breakfast, highly recommend it, promotion at last 😉 🍻

Response

LOL not before time.Hi Martin.Thank you for taking the time to write a review.So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Martin L | Mon 25th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Accommodation at The White Rose - Rating 5/5

It was a most enjoyable stay at The White Rose. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious and well presented. The cottage was close to many restaurants. Would highly recommend staying at The White Rose.

Response

Hello Ian it was great to meet you.glad you enjoyed your breakfast.Hope your journey home was safe and comfortable.Take good care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian S | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


White rose - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, excellent breakfast and really friendly hosts. Would certainly stay again.

Response

Hi Rod.So pleased you would come again.Thank you for your kind review and look forward to seeing you in the future.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Rod M | Fri 3rd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Stay at White Rose- Rating 4/5

My partner and I stayed at the White Rose for one night. We were made to feel very welcome. Our room was comfortable and warm. The scrambled eggs are delicious at breakfast. I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast for it's location and comfort.

Response

Hello Joanne. Im really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Take care for the future.Alison and Graham.

Reviewer:Joanne B | Tue 31st Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Birthday Treat for friends - Rating 5/5

Great location.Very clean.Lovely breakfast.Excellent customer service.This location gives you best of both worlds.Stroll down to lake.If you don't fancy walk back only £5 in taxi back to accommodation.

Response

Hi Lynn,I hope you found those pillows for your neck take care and thank you for your review.It was great to meet you.

Reviewer:Lynn S | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Great location/great owners/extremely pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Extremely welcoming and friendly ownersGreat location (near Bowness/lake)Very clean and pleasant rooms

Response

Thank you for you review.So pleased you enjoyed your visit to us.We hope you enjoyed Orrest Head.

Reviewer:Ajul H | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent choice - Rating 4/5

A lovely homely b&b. We were given a very warm welcome by the new owners who are in the process of upgrading the facilities.The rooms were nicely decorated and, although small, were very well equipped with everything you could need.The breakfast was superb and filled us up for the whole day but it was the welcome packet of hot soup left for us after a long days walk which impressed the most. Such thoughtfulness. I would stay here again whenever I am in the area.

Response

Hi, Glad you had a safe trip home .Im glad you enjoyed your stay and would stay again.It was great to meet you and your family.Look after yourselves.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Katin R | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Just returned from a stay. The owners are very friendly and welcoming.Great choice of drinks in room. Lovely room. Breakfast was fab.

Response

Thank you for your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Graham and Alison,

Reviewer:Marie D | Sun 8th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay at the White Rose - Rating 5/5

I don't normally write reviews but wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the White Rose for valentines day. We only stayed 1 night but was made to feel so welcome. The room was perfect, in an ideal location 5 mins from Windermere train station, breakfast was lovely and the added touch of the Rose, Chocs and Wine was so thoughtful. I would definitely recommend this guest house to my family and friends. Thanks you for making us feel so welcome x

Response

Hi Dawn.Thank you for you lovely comments. Im really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.It was great to meet you,take care.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Dawn F | Tue 17th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Valentines Day - Rating 5/5

Just returned from an excellent visit to Windermere. Stayed at the White Rose which was brilliant. All the small touches from Alison and her partner were fantastic choc bottle of sparkling wine on arrival plus a Red Rose on the bed all really fine touches. Breakfast to die for.

Response

Thank you for your comments.It was our pleasure.A special day needs special touches. Im glad you enjoyed your breakfast.We do try to run the guest house the way we would expect if we went away.It was great meeting you and wish you well

Reviewer:Gary L | Sun 15th Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


MR & MRS MORAN - Rating 5/5

We have just stayed the night with another couple of friends.We were made very welcome by Alison &Graham who were very understanding when advised that another couple that were due to travel with us were unable to get away.The bedroom had all the necessary facilities (including a well-stocked teas/coffee tray)very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was first class.We had a lovely walk on Sunday morning, that Graham had recommended, and we would definitely stay here again.well done to Graham &Alison

Response

Thank you for your taking the time to give usfeedback on your stay.And look forward to seeing you again soon.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Tracy M | Mon 2nd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

We had a nice stay at this cute, little guest house - pros:Breakfast was delicious, location right in the centre, rooms were clean and with love to detail (coffee facilities, hot water bottle, little snacks), only minor points:At night it was a bit chilly in the rooms as the heat was turned down and the free Wifi didn't always work. Apart from that we had a great stay with lovely hosts!

Response

Hi Janine.hope you had a safe trip back. WIFI sorted we bought a new router,so sorry this didnt help you.I am sorry you were chilly ,again this will not help you but we have bought thicker tog duvets and have altered the length we keep the heating on at night. Im glad you say we are cute i think so to. it was great to meet you to.We still have a lot more plans for updating.

Reviewer:Janine W | Tue 13th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, fantastic breakfast, comfortable room all at a competitive price. 100% recommend

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Spring cleaning now for the new season.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Keith B | Wed 7th Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


New Years Eve Stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant stay at The White Rose.Nice rooms , a cracking breakfast and very hospitable hosts. What more do you need ?

Response

Hi Paul.It was great to meet you.I\'m glad you enjoyed your stay with us .Hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewer:Paul B | Fri 2nd Jan 2015 | 3 years ago


Radiators and wifi - Rating 3/5

The room was a bit small but it was clean and comfortable. However, we felt very cold during the middle of the night as the radiators got turned off at around 11 everyday. There was no wifi in the hotel as there is no internet connection on my phone in the lake district it was important for us to at least have internet access in the hotel. We managed to get wifi in the nearby cafe.

Response

Thank you for your review.All reviews are helpful in giving us your input for us to learn ways to improve.We are only a guest house and not a hotel so some rooms will be on the small side.the heating comes on 3 times a day going off at eleven pm every night.However we do supply in all rooms extra duvets and pillows these are in the top of the wardrobes.The WiFi was only sporadic for a day as talk talk rectified the problem.I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Wenhui M | Tue 30th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Strongly Recommend - Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay. Great location, nice people, clean rooms, more than excellent breakfast. I'll definitely come back again.

Response

Thank you.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.It was great meeting you.We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Reviewer:Jingjing W | Sun 28th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


ms - Rating 5/5

Super place. Very frendly owners.Very tasty food. We recommend.

Response

Thank you.it was great to meet you.So glad you enjoyed yourselves.Take care hope you have a happy new year.

Reviewer:Anna G | Fri 26th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Well worth a visit - Rating 5/5

Well situated, parking nearby, lovely warm welcome. Breakfast WONDERFUL, catered for Gluten Free too.

Response

It was great to meet you, thank you for you review comments. Hope to see you again in the future.Regards Graham and Alison.

Reviewer:Denise Ruth W | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 3 years ago


Great location - Rating 4/5

Great location in Windermere. 10 minutes away from the train station but quite quiet.

Reviewer:Ms. Chi Ha C | Tue 19th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Best of Best - Rating 5/5

I stayed yesterday.I was done for mentally and physically with hard trip. But When I arrived 'The White Rose', I was happy beyond words. First, Calloline is very kindness. She was very friendly and hospitable. Second, The room was cleansed. Third, They prepared a hearty breakfast. I am satisfied. Thanks a lot.

Response

Thank you so much for leaving a review of the White Rose in Windermere. It was lovely meeting you and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Good luck with your studies and hopefully you will manage to visit the beautiful Lake District again.

Reviewer:Ms. Seulgi C | Mon 28th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Nice guest house - Rating 5/5

The room had all the equipment I need, the owners were very nice and friendly. And the breakfast was super.

Response

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the White Rose, Jack.It was very nice meeting you and I trust you had a good journey back. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us again.

Reviewer:Mr. Tong W | Wed 2nd Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Fantastic guest house in great location was made very welcome and nothing was to much trouble

Response

Thank you very much for leaving a review on your recent stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and I hope you willchoose to stay with us again!

Reviewer:Mrs. NatalieB | Sat 22nd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Cosy - Rating 4/5

The white rose is a small and cosy bed and breakfast only 2 mins walk from Windermere town, just over a mile from bowness and a 10 minute drive into Ambleside. The host Caroline is very friendly and the quality of the full English breakfast was very good and filling

Reviewer:Mr. John K | Tue 1st Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


- Rating 5/5

it was very clean and tidy breakfast was excellent and the host was very friendly would stay there again many thanks keith skelton

Response

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - and for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.It was lovely meeting you both and hope you will choose to stay again should you revisit the Lake District.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith S | Wed 4th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Amazing Stay, lovely host - Rating 5/5

We have stayed in many B&B but I have to say I have never met a host as nice, lovely and warm as Caroline. She was very welcoming, went out of her way in giving information about places etc.. Breakfast was very clean and cooked to perfection. Room was decorated tastefully and elegantly. To be honest I didn't find anything negative about my stay here. If I come to Lake districtagain I will only stay here no where else!!!Manju &Raj

Response

Dear Manju and Raj,Thank you for leaving your review of your recent stay with us.It was lovely meeting you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at the White Rose.

Reviewer:Ms. Manju Jeevitha Casimir R | Tue 13th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


- Rating 5/5

We were warmly welcomed to the White Rose and enjoyed our stay immensely.The location was very close to town centre and parking was not a problem.Our breakfast was well cooked and presented and the selection quite varied. We never left the charming breakfast room feeling hungry.Our memory of The White Rose is of a friendly welcome and continuing interest in our welfare etc. by the charming proprietor, Caroline. It was a pleasureto be hosted by her.Barry and Pauline Carroll. Perth West Australia.

Response

Thank you so much for leaving your review of your recent stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Pauline C | Sun 11th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Very Clean and fantastic breakfast.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the White Rose.It was lovely meeting you both and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time in the fantastic Lake District.Thanks again.

Reviewer:Mr. Scott F | Sun 7th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Short break June 2013 - Rating 4/5

Caroline is the most pleasant of hosts, and very helpful if you require any information. Rooms are both comfortable and adequately equiped, and make the best use of the available space.

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.It was very nice meeting you both - and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel P | Thu 27th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Impressed - Rating 5/5

We were very impressed and made to feel very welcome. All facilities were also very clean and to a good standard.

Reviewer:Mr. Christian L | Wed 29th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely B&B in Windermere!Very friendly welcome (although the stairs were tough)and comfortable and clean twin room.The bathroom is very small so if you are a larger type person (like me) it is tough to get around.The breakfast is delicious and the owner/hostess is so lovely and friendly you do feel you are at home.Thanks for a lovely stay in Windermere!

Response

Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you and Barbara when you visited the Lakes. These old Lakeland houses (and the White Rose is 200 years old) do have steep stairs up to the second floor - but hopefully the views towards the fells and mountains went some way in compensating you for the ascent!!

Reviewer:Ms. Mary B | Mon 29th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


one in a million - Rating 5/5

the white rose is actually one in humdreds of guest houses in the windermere area. But to us it is "one in a million". while we were there the weather was quite dank (cold and wet) but the white rose was a warm shining haven in cumbria. I have two example to share which were iconic. 1) like all guest houses they supplied cappuccino satchets in the room, but here you also get those lovely biscuits plus chocolate flakes to shake on your coffee. 2) all the eggs i saw on the full english plates in the morning were cooked ideally for me , they have really perfected the cooking temperature and timeHowever,my final comment is saved for last but by no means least. You just have to meet "my sweet caroline"(as documented musically by Neil Diamond).This is a classy lady who has a warmth and love that came to light when she enthusiastically explained the attractions of Kendal and Keswick to us. You could easily walk past the white rose at the bottom of broad street, but once you have stayed with "my sweet"caroline, you will never just walk past it again.

Response

Dear Geoffrey,Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely comment!It was really kind of you to take the time to review your stayand we hope you will return to Windermere very soon - to enjoy the Lakes!

Reviewer:Mr. Geoffrey D | Tue 12th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Very nice host and dilicious breakfast, i will still choose that b&b if i go back to the Lack District!

Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you all and I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves in the beautiful Lake District.

Reviewer:Miss. Qian Z | Sun 28th Oct 2012 | 5 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Well then what can I say about the white rose b&b . It's very clean if you need anything all you need to do is ask very friendly and the breakfast was loverly . Oh and some very nice restaurants just down the road and some loverly walks . Thank you Caroline for a loverly stay .

Response

Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely meeting you both at the wekend and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Howard W | Mon 24th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Very Happy Melbourne Couple - Rating 5/5

Centrally located in the Lakes district it was a great place to stay.Close to resteraunts and hotels of good quality.Was a great place to return to each night for a restful sleep.Caroline made us feel very welcome and the breakfasts were magnificant.

Response

David and Patricia - thank you so much for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your week's stay with us in the Lake District and hopefully you will visit the UK again in the future..

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Sun 30th Oct 2011 | 6 years ago


Lovely time - Rating 5/5

This is a very well located 4 star B&B that was recommended by a friend in the first place. The host is very nice and welcoming and breakfasts are amazing. The room was very comfortable and clean so I will be recommending the place myself.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of the White Rose.It was lovely meeting you and Boris and we hope you will visit the beautiful Lake District again.Thank you again.

Reviewer:Miss. Maria M | Sat 10th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


- Rating 4/5

I really enjoyed the stay in white rose.When we arrived, we received a warm welcome.And we like the room a lot. it's clean and comfortable.

Response

Thank you for leaving a comment on your stay at the White Rose.It was lovely meeting you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again if you revisit the Lake District!

Reviewer:Miss. Hui Wen H | Thu 25th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Rooms might not be the most luxourious in the world but perfect for a couple of days in the Lake District. Brilliant service, great breakfast and overall fantastic weekend away.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It was lovely meeting you and Kevin - and hopefully you will stay with us again if you visit the Lakes. Thanks!

Reviewer:Miss. Zuzanna B | Sat 20th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

I DONT THINK I COULD ASK FOR ANYMORE FROM OUR STAY AT THE WHITE ROSE.THEY WERE VERY HELPFULL RIGHT DOWN TO LOANING MAPS OF THE AREA TO US.WE WILL BE USING AGAIN

Response

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing yu both again in the beautiful Lake District. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Allan B | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Best weekend ever - Rating 4/5

The accommodation and breakfast was great, the room was clean and tidy and the host very friendly and pleasant. Great customer service!

Response

Thanks so much for leaving a comment on your stay at the White Rose. We enjoyed meeting you and Ella and are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you both again in the Lakes. Thanks again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen D | Wed 27th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Everything we'd hoped for! - Rating 5/5

We recently had a wonderful stay at The White Rose in Windermere. Although we were only there for one night, we would definitely come back again! The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern. Caroline was very helpful and welcoming, and we thoroughly enjoyed her breakfast! Thankyou for a lovely stay!

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and hope you will manage a return trip to the Lake District before too long!

Reviewer:Mr. Jack B | Fri 22nd Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay. Nice, clean room, great cooked breakfast - and both Caroline and Kevin Clewer are great hosts, very helpful in suggesting trips in the Lake District. We felt quite a home.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the White Rose. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will visit the beautiful Lake District again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gitte D | Tue 19th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

convinient location, quiet and cozy room. breakfast is good. additional classic english movie dvd is just a PLUS. =)

Response

Thank you for leaving your comments on the White Rose. It was lovely meeting you both and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Mengdi W | Tue 12th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at the white rose guest house. We enjoyed our stay so much we will be booking agin for September. Caroline was fantastic really had fun

Response

Thank you for taking time to post a review on your stay at the White Rose.We're glad you reached home safely and are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you both again later in the year!! Thanks again.

Reviewer:Miss. Bridgette F | Mon 27th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


- Rating 4/5

had a lovely time, host was very helpful, very central for exploring Windermere.cheers

Response

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was lovely meeting you and Anara and we hope to see you in the Lakes again soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Kim S | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


great stay! - Rating 4/5

the place was cozy and clean, with really nice breakfast! great location as well

Response

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the White Rose. Thank you for taking the time to review us - and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Reviewer:Ms. Azliana A | Sun 22nd May 2011 | 7 years ago


- Rating 4/5

good central location. good value for money.caroline was very helpful.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay at the White Rose. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - and hopefully will return to the Lakes again soon. Thank you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert D | Tue 26th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Friendliest B&B in Windermere! - Rating 4/5

We stayed for three nights over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend at the White Rose and really enjoyed ourselves. The friendly welcome, the location, the early check-in available, the huge and delicious breakfasts (loved the cafetiere's on tap!) and the extra little finishes to make it a great trip were all there. Thank you Caroline!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We value our guests' opinions and we are always very pleased to receive positive feedback.It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you will manage other break in the Lake District very soon!!

Reviewer:Ms. Georgina H | Tue 26th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago